A letter to my parents

Dear Mum and Dad

I don’t really know where to begin, but this letter is really just to say thank you!  Thank you for raising me and putting up with me for the last 17 years.  I’m so grateful for everything you did with me when I was younger that allowed me to have an awesome childhood and teenage years.  Thank you for being my taxi, taking me to swimming, ballet and all the social/school events I’ve been involved in, even though you’ve had better things to do, especially in recent years with my siblings. 

Thank you for all the money you have spent on me over the past few years, and for filling in all the forms too.  Thank you for letting me explore the big wide world and for not stopping me from doing all the things I’ve wanted to do.  You taught me how to get the most out of the activities I do and to treasure the memories I have, the good ones for happiness and the bad ones as lessons.  You taught me how to be brave and persevere, even when I gave up at first, and you taught me to always go one step further, to push myself and become a better person. 

I know I don’t show it properly but I am so blessed to have done some of the things I have done, but I wouldn’t have been able to do them if it wasn’t for your love and encouragement.  You helped me to become more independent and shared many words of wisdom, and terrible jokes too.  Even when you were stressed and tired you would still help me with any problems I had and that means so much.  I know I haven’t always been easy to deal with, I’ve answered back, slammed doors, cried and said stupid things and for that I am sorry.  Sometimes I take for granted your unconditional love and kindness, but I know how lucky I am.  I am nearly 18 now, but I hope one day in the future I can give something back, although I could never pay back for everything.   

I am always thankful and hopefully I’ve made you proud.  I hope I haven’t let you down.   

Love you lots,

Violetkatie xxx 🙂

Leave a Reply

